Once a powerful Crusader castle, today the fortress of Raymond de Saint-Gilles towers above the modern city of Tripoli, Lebanon. The original Crusader fort was largely destroyed at the end of the 13th century before being rebuilt by the Mamluks. Visitors can explore the castle itself, as well as the visitor centre which provides more information on the history of the site. The site also offers great views of the city and the surrounding area. Saint Gilles Castle was originally built by the governor of Tripoli as a Crusader fortress from 1103 to 1104. When the Mamluks set fire to the Mont Pelerin quarter in 1289, the castle of Saint Gilles lay abandoned for the next eighteen years. A new fortification was needed as a stronghold for the sultan’s troops, and the governor chose the site of and the materials left behind from the gutted crusader castle to build a citadel.
Winter: Everyday 8am-4:30pm
Summer: Everyday 8am-8pm